Wardens

The Wardening team are here for your safety, wellbeing and discipline - but also to make sure the Hall runs smoothly and you have an enjoyable first year at university.

Wilson House has a Warden, an Assistant Warden, seven Sub-Wardens (who together make up the Wardening team) and twenty Hall Seniors. Meet the Wardening team below. The wardening team are here for you, so don’t hesitate to stop by or approach anyone of us if you see us in the hall. We wish you a very happy and successful year, and look forward to meeting you all!


Francesco - Warden

Hi everyone, welcome to Wilson House! I'm Francesco Restuccia, the Warden of this wonderful establishment, responsible for the wardening team, and more importantly, your welfare, hall social life, and discipline.

In college, I am a Postdoctoral researcher in the Mechanical Engineering department, working on thermofluid problems. In my free time I love to play sports, mainly squash, football, and rock climbing, as well as cultivating my passion for cooking. I am originally from Italy, but have spent the last 13 years abroad, between the UK, USA and Switzerland. So I understand how overwhelming it feels to move to a new place, but also the exciting opportunities that come along with being somewhere new. I've been wardening for over 4 years and have a wealth of experience, so do feel free to direct any questions you may have to me, and I'll do my best to help.

My team and I are here to help in any way we can, so please do let us know if there's anything we can do to make your stay and experience here at Wilson amazing and memorable. Hope you have a fantastic year with us.

Celeste - Assistant Warden

Welcome to Wilson House! My name is Celeste van den Bosch; I am the assistant warden of Wilson House and a Postdoctoral Researcher in the Department of Materials. I am originally from Vancouver, Canada but am also half-Dutch and lived in the Netherlands during high school.

I have been at Imperial for nine year; completing an MSci in the Department of Chemistry before moving across to the Department of Materials for my PhD studies, and current postdoc. Throughout my time at Imperial I have continued to live in halls; as a fresher, hall senior, subwarden and now assistant warden. Apart from research and wardening, I like to spend my time reading, cooking and baking, traveling, trying out sports to varying degrees of success, walking and hiking.

A warm welcome to everyone! The wardening team is here to support you so please do come speak with us if you have concerns or just want to have a chat! I look forward to getting to know you over the upcoming year.


Gavin

Hi! I'm Gavin - I'm from a place called High Wycombe which is quite close to London. I've been at Imperial for 5 years now having just finished my undergrad in Physics last year - I have lots of Blackett stories to tell. I'm now starting my PhD in the Computing department. My research splices AI and Computer Vision with Medical Imaging.

I really enjoy playing tennis and badminton - you'll often find me at the Hyde Park tennis courts. One of my goals this year is to try out climbing - so please ask me how climbing is going so that I actually do it! Aside from sport, I'm a big fan of tea and I'm interested in new tech. I'm currently the administrator and developer for the eHalls system so please find me if you have any difficulties

So... Welcome to Wilson House and Imperial! I hope you have a fantastic year and I look forward to meeting you all! If you see me around, please don't hesitate to come say hi - I'm here to help with any issues that arise :)

Alberto

Hello everyone! Congratulations for your place at Imperial and welcome to Wilson House! I'm Alberto, I'm from Lecce, in sunny Apulia, South of Italy, where I studied for my Undergraduate degree in Information Engineering. I got my MSc in Robotics and Automation in the shade of the leaning tower of Pisa. If you ever lay your hands on a ticket to Italy, a visit to the fascinating shores of Apulia and the picturesque hills of Tuscany is strongly recommended! I started my PhD journey here at Imperial in March, so my scouting in London is just at the beginning - if you feel like going sightseeing please ask me!<

My research interests are in the field of stochastic control systems: I mainly deal with theoretical analysis (tons of maths!) and computer simulations.

In my free time I usually go jogging and enjoy playing tennis, so you are very welcome to hit me up if you need a running or hitting partner. I also like to try new leisure activities and sports, but no guarantee on my learning skills!

I can't wait to see you all here at Wilson House. Hope you get the most out of your university life in this electrifying City and lovely Hall - I'll be happy to help you make your experience unforgettable!

Sophie

Hello, I'm Sophie, I'm from London and I went to school in leafy Hertfordshire, which is just to the North of London. I studied at The University of Leeds for my Undergraduate degree, graduating with a BEng in Civil and Structural Engineering. Following my Batchelors degree, I moved to Imperial and graduated with an MSc in Advanced Structural Engineering, following which I gained a PhD scholarship. My PhD title is 'The Applicability of Plastic Analysis to High Strength Steel Design', which will involve lots of laboratory work and computational analysis.

Outside of Academia, I like to partake in sports, including running, cycling, rowing and skiing and when I can I like to fit in little city breaks around Europe.

Lastly, I hope you have a great time at Imperial and enjoy your stay in Wilson House. If you ever want some advice on where to go in and around London, then just ask!

Alessandro

Hi everyone! I'm Alessandro, and like many of you, I am new to Imperial and Wilson House. I am from a small village in Piemonte, Italy, and have recently completed my undergraduate degree in Marine Biology at Plymouth University. I will now be starting an MRes in Molecular and Cellular Biosciences at Imperial, which I am very excited about.

In my free time I like exploring my surroundings, going to the gym (more or less regularly.....) and reading a good book when I find time. More in general, I like learning about other people's cultures and experiences and having engaging conversations over coffee or tea. I also love cats (but then again, who doesn't?).

You're more than welcome to talk to me about anything, here to help! I hope you enjoy your stay at Wilson House and have an amazing year altogether, and don't forget to make the most of what London has to offer. See you all very soon! :)

Lucie

Hey everyone! I am Lucie - I am from Prague in the Czech Republic and I have started my UK journey four years ago as a biologist at Cambridge. I have specialised in relatively applied bioengineering and after an adventurous year out as an intern, I am keen to start engineering microbial metabolism to produce medically useful compounds in my PhD at Imperial!

When not in the lab, I love outdoor sports such as long mountain expeditions, caving, and kayaking but also acroyoga. I also spend my time baking, organising science camps, practicing improv, learning about psychology and personality development, and many other activities. Anything new is exciting!

I hope you are all excited about coming to Wilson and starting your academic adventures! I look forward to meeting you all and being on hand if you need anything!

Liuba

Hey everyone, and welcome to Wilson House and Imperial! I'm Liuba, and I have just finished my masters here in the Physics department, and am starting my PhD journey in Biophotonics. I play classical guitar and enjoy alpine skiing, racket sports and running. I also take waaay too many photos, and as you can guess, living in London doesn't help, as there are too many beautiful views and interesting places. I am looking forward to meeting you and helping make sure you will have an amazing first year at Wilson!

Sijia

Hi everyone! Welcome to Imperial College and Wilson House. I am Sijia [sɪ-dʒɪɑː], part of the sub-warden team here.

Five years ago, I flew here from China and now I am looking forward to starting my 6th year at Imperial (how exciting ~) as a PhD student in Clinical Medicine Research at the LMS MRC subunit. Besides acting as a science geek, I also enjoy sports (such as archery, cycling, etc.), cooking, watching movies and learning about the history & culture all around the world.

If you are confused about something or fancy a chat, please feel free to come to me. I hope you all enjoy your year at Wilson!